October is Almost Here and My Friends Are Still Dying

I know, nobody likes to talk about death, but I can’t stop thinking about it.

Morbid… maybe, but for me and other friends of mine it is an almost everyday occurrence.

1 in 8 women will get breast cancer. “The easy cancer,” said sarcastically.

Here’s a stat you may not know, 1 in 3 early stage survivors will go Stage IV, metastatic breast cancer (MBC).

There is no cure for Stage IV!

I don’t know about you, but I think those are pretty sucky odds. What’s worse, the most amazing women and men who are already Stage IV know they are living on borrowed time.

Another one you won’t like, only 2% of research funding goes to MBC. This is how people are dying, this number should be so much higher!!!!

Since getting cancer I have become friends with a large group of people with breast cancer of all stages and types. Some are doing well, some have moved onto Stage IV, some were Stage IV when I met them and some are no longer here, like my friend Champagne Joy of Cancerland. (I will be re-posting an interview I did with Champagne during October!)

Chiara DAgostino MBC Kelli Parker MBC

Jennifer Pace MBC                          File Sep 28, 9 27 43 AM

Faces of Metastatic Breast Cancer and my friends!
Chiara D’Agostino of Beauty Through the Beast
Kelli M. Davis from NWA Metsquerade
Jennifer Pace from SWFL Metsquerade
Amanda Sivak Cancer Community of Greater Lehigh Valley

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Umm, I think we are all aware. What is important now is a cure. We need to support charities like Metavivor where “100% of every donation and 100% of proceeds from every fundraiser (after event expenses) goes into our research grants.” Another great charity is Metastatic Breast Cancer Network.

This year, we have also seen some more awareness. Eva Longoria teamed up with Novartis to announce #kissthis4MBC! “For every post using the hashtag #KissThis4MBC shared PUBLICLY on social media, Novartis will donate $10 to the Metastatic Breast Cancer Network (MBCN) and METAvivor, two patient-driven advocacy organizations dedicated to supporting people living with metastatic breast cancer.”

MBC gets one day in the month of October, October 13th. In this day and age it should have the whole month.

Death isn’t glamorous, death isn’t beautiful and therefore it just doesn’t get the attention. Those that get MBC rarely live long enough to keep up the momentum. It is up to us to keep continuing this fight.

Pink is pretty, people don’t mind talking about pink ribbons. I do. I have from the beginning even before I knew about MBC. Just because it’s pink doesn’t mean it’s good. Be careful what you buy with pink ribbons, ask how much is actually going to a cure. I think you may be surprised how little go to charities that are really doing something to help. For more info on businesses doing good for breast cancer click here.

signature_compact

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

