Pinktober is Coming to a Close

As Pinktober comes to a close, there is one thing that is very exciting, my birthday!

I was born on Mischief Night!

For years I celebrated the entire month as my birthday month. I had countdowns and wore hot pink for my birthday week. We had Halloween/Birthday parties that were crazy. Everyone would get dressed up and we would have a blast.

Heidi Kelly of HKelly designs

The last time I had a Halloween Birthday party was a few years ago. I had a surgery scheduled for early November and I was determined to have one more party before surgery.

That was in the early stage of my diagnosis, before I was blissfully unaware that I could have a recurrence or that I have a 30% chance of going metastatic even with a double mastectomy.

Sometimes, ignorance is bliss, but knowledge is power!

This past weekend, I went to the Serenity Project to benefit METAvivor and got to hang out with some absolutely amazing people, some with Metastatic breast cancer and others touched by breast cancer and Stage IV. It was truly amazing to see so much love and happiness there was. You can read more about the event here from my HKelly designs blog.

Chiara DAgostino of beauty through the beast Bob Carey of the tutu project and Heidi kelly of hkelly designs at serenity project.jpg

This weekend I will be visiting a friend who just had surgery. I’m glad I could be here for any questions she might have.

Next week is my birthday, a day for me to smile and celebrate another year. But in the back of my mind I will think about all those who won’t have another birthday. I will keep on keepin’ on for those who can’t!

In fact, I am excited to announce, I will be designing some bags for METAvivor with fabrics I designed from their logo and their Elephant in the Pink Room!

Pinktober can be tough, but we all have things to look forward no matter how big or how small!

signature_compact

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

